2nd Post

by bynnad

Today I began the slow and steady progression of my summer training, by switching gears from a lighter less-mileage kind of schedule to a much more intense schedule. I can already feel my body regaining lost strength and accepting familiar punishments from longer distance runs, just like the old seasons.

Although I only went 8 miles today, I plan on increasing my mileage to 60 per week. That means about 9, 10, and 12 mile days, accompanied by some work outs, ab routines, and stretching exercises sent to me on a paper by the URI coach.

If you’re a “type 2 varsity runner” like me, and have not yet talked to a coach about workout scheduling, definitely look into it and make a call or email. Every bit of work counts, and we need all the preparation we can acquire to give us an edge in the fall. As long as we don’t get injured, we should be fine.