Post 3

by bynnad

Under a hot humid August sun, my old teammates and I completed a hilly 12-mile run, which took a toll on all of our bodies. Fatigue, dehydration, and nausea were all symptoms shared among us from a tiresome day full of hard work, as we prepared for our coming seasons on the high school and college levels.

I do not mind training hard; yes, sometimes it can be exhausting, but it is a welcome pain, as I know it only improves my strength and endurance. What really ruins my performance are these hot summers, which make any sort of physical activity intolerable, especially these high-mileage excursions along un-shaded roads and through barren terrain.

Still, though, we trudge on, and make sure not to burn ourselves out or cause unnecessary damage to ourselves. Running in a group, or just with a friend, makes these long-distance runs that more enjoyable.