Post 9

by bynnad

Today marked the first day of Sandwich XC’s seasonal practice. Being there with old teammates brought back old feelings of nostalgia and good times. They certainly have a tough running season ahead of them; they must try to hold onto Sandwich TC’s title of state and league champions, and with competing teams like Marshfield, Pembroke, and Bishop- Feehan, they must work overtime to ensure their title.

I feel like all of us have our own personal goals and aspirations, as well as goals regarding the whole team. My old teammates certainly want to score big wins, but they also have personal records they want to break as well, and for the seniors, this could be their last chance. For me, I just hope to make it to the URI team and have some kind of positive impact for their season. I feel as though I’ve trained as hard as I can without wearing myself out or reaching a peak. Only the future holds the answers. I feel I’ve reached a set of crossroads that will either lead me to success or failure.

It will be a bittersweet last week of summer practice. I hate to leave my old team behind. But I know they’ll keep the Sandwich TC legacy of victory alive.